Tuesday, 14 September 2010

The Mazda 121 Challenge

This championship ran in 1996 and was initiated by Mazda, to promote its 121 supercompact car. It appears to have run as part of the Australian Touring Car championship, and consisted of eight races. A number of the entrants had at least some motorsport experience, mostly gained in other Australian saloon championships. One, Jo Cadman, is better-known as a rally driver. Some, including Kylie Waldon, were complete novices.

The Challenge was won by Tania Gulson, who had prior experience in one-make racing. Her victory came in spite of a large crash in the second race, at Sandown. Melinda Price was second, and touring car racer Sue Hughes-Collins was fifth. Tania Gulson also set the championship’s lap record, at Symmons Plains. Paula Elstrek won at least two races. Profiles of some of the drivers involved can be found here.

Entry list:
Tania Gulson
Melinda Price
Sue Hughes-Collins
Kylie Waldon
Paula Elstrek
Jo Cadman
Megan Kirkham
Kerryn Brewer
Carolyn Peterson
Wendy Gibbs
Cassandra Crisp
Carol Jackson
Joanne O'Brien

(Image from http://members.iinet.net.au/~misstery/rosco/paularesume.html)

No comments:

Post a Comment